Paint Party for Two

Two little girls, two shades of green, two foam brushes and a large white wall, what do you get?  Two proud little girls, a fun hour and a marvelous mural!

I have been eyeing shades of green for the main color in the house and on the way home yesterday I stopped by and picked up some samples.  I thought it would be fun for the girls to help.  It was!  They loved feeling like they were a part of the process and having that much freedom.  Let’s be honest wouldn’t it be fun if someone stood you in front of a large wall and said paint whatever you want.  Here’s what it looks like when a 6-year-old an 3-year-old do it!

I loved the drawing.  Unfortunately, I did not like either color.  While it is hard to see here because of the poor lighting the Parakeet resembles what I used to find in the diapers of these precious girls.  Needless to say, do not want to think about that everytime I look at our walls.

Next, I decided to check out the shades of green at Lowes.  I tried 3 different colors.  Here is a picture of the 2 finalists with some of our fabric that may be in this room.  I’m not sure the drapes are staying.

The picture is from my phone and there is no overhead light in this room, so not the best representation.   Yes you did read correctly, Laura Ashley paint colors.  How many of you girls immediately think of the big floral dresses from the late 80’s, early 90’s whenever you see the brand Laura Ashley?  I certainly do!

My sweet mom-in-law and color expert extraordinaire helped via picture mail.  We both liked the same color and went with…Apple 3!  If you were wondering there around 5 shades off Apple in this paint line.  Apple 1 looks like a wash, it is basically white with a green tint.  Apple 5 was deep and intense, too much for a base color in our house.

A big shout out to Lowes on Main Street in Summerville   The ladies and guys in the paint department were super helpful and nice.  I absolutely loved the sample sizes as compared to Sherwin Williams.

Who needs that much of a paint color you end up not using?  Not to mention the $5 price difference.

Once I made my final decision I started taping because I cannot yet paint without taping!  I’m a bit of a clutz.  Curious what the final result was?

Here’s a pic from when we put our offer in.

And here is it today.  TADA

Still more to do in this room, but it is starting to feel like ours now!

Posted on August 7, 2011, in Decorating, Fun with the Girls, Paint Colors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Awesome! It’s beginning to look like YOU!

  2. Gorgeous!! Apple 3 is the one I was rootin’ for, too! Great job guys, especially to your two little artistes!

  3. Too funny– I was in Danville helping Mom try to pick paint colors this weekend. She didn’t let me do any unicorns or alien beings, though. I’m not sure we’re any closer to choosing her colors, and the painters start in a week!

  4. It looks great! It is so rewarding doing it yourself. I just did alot of work at my mothers new house and had so much fun! I am a good painter and would love to help! English

Leave a Reply

