Best Laid Plans

Are you wondering what happened to my ironing board cover?  I am.  Actually, I’m not, this is just a good example of why I don’t sew as often as I would like to.  I start a sewing project that should be easily completed in one day.  I either get derailed by other things or I make a mistake and don’t have time to complete it that day.  Then it is a week before I get back to the project.

This is my dining room table today.  One week after starting a project that should’ve take an hour maybe two.  Yes we do eat dinner at this table, currently at the opposite end!

That is also a snow globe craft the girls did last Thursday in the midst of my mess.  Most of my friends think I am obsessively neat, organized and clean.  I’m blowing my cover and telling you that my entire house looks a bit like this these days.  I could not even begin to tell you when I last cleaned the entire house.  I just keep doing the bathrooms and the kitchen.  Trying to convince myself it is ok.  There are running piles of laundry sorted in the office waiting in queue for the washing machine.

I am a mess.

Back to the ironing board.

Yep, that would be a beach towel draped over it (also in the office).  This way we can continue to iron during my little sewing project.   I should also mention here we iron on an “as needed” basis.  Which means everyday for both of us.  I wish I was like my mom and gathered all the ironing each week and did it all at one time.  I tried that when I had our oldest daughter.  It lasted about 4 weeks.

I really want to finish my project.  Not sure about tonight though we are going to be working at the new house doing some prep work for ceiling scraping!  Maybe tomorrow, maybe in the wee hours of Friday morning.  Eventually I will have pear fabric on my ironing board and be able to smile happily when I look at it!

Posted on August 3, 2011, in Sewing Projects and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

